India Immigration Alert



Tourist visa-on-arrival to be offered to most nationalities by the end of 2014

A number of news sources* have reported that India is planning to grant tourist visa on-arrivals to a majority of nationalities by the end of 2014. Currently, the country grants tourist visa-on-arrival to eleven countries only: Burma, Cambodia, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.

India's Planning Minister, Rajeev Shukla, was quoted by CNN-IBN as saying,

"We have decided to extend the visa-on-arrival facility to tourists from 180 nations. It will take between five and six months for the respective departments to put the required infrastructure in place. We hope to implement this from the next tourist session beginning in October"

The new process will require applicants to submit an online application at least five working days prior to entering India. Once the application is approved, the visa will be made available for collection during arrival at the airport. A post-arrival biometric identification scan will be required in order to finalize the process at the Immigration area of the airport, following which the visitor will receive a 30-day tourist visa.

The new policy will not apply to the following countries, whose citizens will still have to go through the full tourist visa application process before they enter India: Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka and Sudan.

*Sources

Wall Street Journal

 $\underline{blogs.wsj.com/indiareal time/2014/02/07/indias-visa-on-arrival-a-game-changer}$

New Delhi Television

www.ndtv.com/article/india/india-to-extend-visa-on-arrival-facility-to-tourists-from-180-nations-479814

CNBC

www.cnbc.com/id/101402048

Arabian Gazette

arabiangazette.com/india-offers-visas-on-arrival-to-180-countries-uae-gcc-20140211

CNN-IBN

www.ibnlive.in.com/news/india-to-extend-visaonarrival-facility-to-tourists-from-180-countries/450205-3.html



www.crownrelo.com/india



