With a population of over 4.8 million people, the country of Singapore is situated at the very tip of the Malay Peninsula. 

It is very much a multicultural, multiracial, multi-religious city-state where the inhabitants live in harmony. 

There are four official languages of Singapore: English, Malay, Mandarin Chinese and Tamil. 

‘Singlish’ is the mixing of English words with those from other languages and may seem a little confusing at first.  However, once you get the hang of it you won’t find it so puzzling and might even appreciate it.